Launched in 1999, the AR Emerging awards grant early recognition to young designers and celebrates the architectural stars of tomorrow. Established in response to the heavy-hitting Gold Medals, Pritzkers, and other lifetime achievement awards, the AR Emerging awards recognise a promising portfolio of work and propels young talent onto the international stage early in their careers.

Previous winners and finalists include Shigeru Ban, Anna Heringer, Thomas Heatherwick, Frida Escobedo, Sameep Padora, Dorte Mandrup, Li Xiaodong, and many more. Shortlisted practices will be published in the AR’s November issue and will then be invited to the World Architecture Festival (December 2022) in Lisbon, for the announcement of the winners and a celebration of the shortlisted work. Find out more on the entry guidelines page.

Final entry deadline: 2 September 2022

Previous Winners
Find out more about last year's winners and watch their presentation

Entry Guidelines
Check what is needed to enter this year's AR Emerging Awards

Sponsor the 2022 awards
Join the global AR Emerging Awards as a partner

Final entry deadline: 2 September 2022

"The awards greatly helped us to continue developing existing ideas and triggered new opportunities for us to create projects and processes for social change"
Jesica Amescua Carrera and Mariana Ordóñez Grajales, co-founders, Comunal Taller de Arquitectura, Winner of AR Emerging Awards 2019